The Best Laid Plans

Yep. Thought I was being pretty smart. I was executing this move with military precision. In fact, now that I think about it, it was almost exactly like a military relocation.   …only in reverse, kind of, lol.

In the military, when you move, they come a pick up your essentials first and ship them out so that they arrive before you get there(hopefully). They do this because the rest of your stuff will be arriving months later, on a VERY slow boat!

Well, for my move, I had it all planned out, it had to be precise, especially with working around the holidays and all. I would take over some essentials and small things, which I did. Then, I would have the big stuff delivered so it could be placed and situated, and then on the final sweep they would bring the remainder. The beauty was to be that these were things that I could ‘take my time’ unpacking, and could do so without the whole house feeling like it was still in chaos. And, … it would all be completed before the current lease expired. HA!

First there was working around the fact that the community decided to pave MY street just when I was planning to move. No problem! After all, even with the holiday, this month has five full weeks. Easy, peasy, lemon squeezy! Right?

Wrong! Absolutely wrong. Almost, but no cigar. My Dad is in the hospital. He will have surgery on Monday. Is it serious? Eh, probably not. Am I scared? Hell yes? Is this Daddy’s girl dropping everything and going to see about her old sea dog? Ya damn skippy!. As planned, I’ll take care of the big stuff today, and potentially I could see him through on Monday and still get back to take care of the rest, but I do believe that I am being told not to depend on MY plans.

So, later today, I find out if my lessor is human and has a heart to work something out with me, just in case, or a corporation which, regardless of what ANYONE tells you, is NOT a person, and only cares about the bottom line.  We shall see.  Wish me luck!

Proverbs 16:9 We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps. (The Living Bible)

KJV – A man’s heart deviseth his way, but the Lord directeth his steps.

Robert Burns – The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry

Me – Stepping out

…because I know you got me …

A bonus, just because  I love it.

Author: Mercedes' Blog

Participated with NaBloPoMo for the month of November. I finished strong!

Leave a Reply

