Empty Things Sound Sad

No, I am not making a political statement. Besides, it might be better for them to be empty  than filled with evil.

I did a walk-thru of the house today. What a difference a day makes!  When I looked at the house it was filled with furniture, and pictures, and warmth. You could tell a family lived there that loved each other and valued their heritage. It was lovely. I think I fell in love with the feeling, the ambiance of the house before even looking around. As soon as I stepped into the house it hugged me and called to me. It felt like home. I knew I had to have it. The lady of the house happened to be there, and feel in love with my love for the house. I was so enamored that I took my daughter by later to look at it through adult, un-infatuated eyes, lol.  Thankfully, she fell in love with it too. It was a long process, but I think we finally see the finish line.

Today however, was a much different story. When we entered, the place was empty. Same walls, same paint, same design, but some how the heart was missing. It felt cold, and, well, empty. Every step echoed loudly. It just was not the same. It was a very lonely sound, hollow and sad. It reminded me that some things, and some people may feel hat way. Especially during the holiday season. I’ll be glad when I get into that house and make it warm and full again. I can’t wait. And, maybe I can do the same for someone who feels like that empty house this season. It doesn’t take much. Hold open a door. Smile. Offer a greeting or assistance if they need it. Make eye contact. Be polite. Yep. I can’t wait to be filled up. Overflowing, even. ❤

full-cup

Author: Mercedes' Blog

Participated with NaBloPoMo for the month of November. I finished strong!

Leave a Reply

