Family Sunday

Today was another wonderful day with family. It was Sunday, so we all went to church. No, the church did not burst into flames when I entered, lol.  I love spirituality, and the Word, but I am not a huge fan of organized religion. It almost killed me. But, that’s a story for another time.

We had a great time, and the message was timely for me.  The pastor talked about using our gifts, about stepping outside of our comfort zones. She talked about how chaos can happen when you are working outside of your gift. For instance, if you are not a people person, perhaps you should not be an usher, or on the greeting committee and things like that. You should do the thing that you can get lost in, can do for hours and lose all sense of time. The thing that gives you joy. She also talked about how, even though something may be a gift, that does not mean that you don’t need to practice it, to work at it. Take musicians for instance, even musicians that do not read music, and only play by ear must practice their instrument, or use their voice, and learn their craft. That reminded me of doing this daily blog for a month in an effort to hopefully improve my writing craft by getting some practice in. I like practical lessons that can be applied to real life.

We also talked about being thankful, even though ‘Thanksgiving’ is over. We live, we breathe, we see the world, with all her joys and pains, so we should continue to be grateful.

For the Christmas program this year, they are not going to have an actual program, but asked that people bring all types of gifts so they can give them to 100 families in the neighborhood and bring Christmas to some families that may not be able to have it.  Oh joy! I was just telling my aunties yesterday when we were shopping about how I didn’t have any little ones to shop for.  My daughter and I chuckled and said now we can go shopping and get toys and all sorts of things! That is going to be a lot of fun. We will figure out how to get them back to my Dad’s later. And, I think I will look for a fellowship doing something like this closer to home.

This has rekindled my desire to be a part of a community that does for others with no expectation of a return. Before I retired, we used to volunteer at the food bank, and also help out at a soup kitchen. I am excited about the prospect of contacting them to offer my services.

I would say that the holidays have begun, and I have been bitten by that spirit of giving.  There is still a lot of good in this world. I want to be a part of that. ❤

gift-8

Author: Mercedes' Blog

Participated with NaBloPoMo for the month of November. I finished strong!

3 thoughts on “Family Sunday”

  1. Great reading your blog and this topic was timely for me, also. I started going the A Synagogue in Fort Lauderdale. It too has rekindled a flame I thought was extinguished. Working for the common good of our brothers and sisters is what life is about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

