What’s Going On? Still.

Yes, there are some changes to the look of my blogs. I try to learn a little more each day, if possible. I hope that those of you that asked can now find the ‘follow’ button, and thank you for asking! But, that’s not what I’m talking about.

Does anybody else see how time is flying by? 
And we can't seem to stop it, no matter how we try. 
Ms M. ©2016

When I am on the road, I listen to public radio, and even that not so much these days because of the news and what’s going on in the world.  But, Saturdays are not so bad. They have some pretty good shows lined up on Saturdays. Anyway, I was on my way to Orlando and was tuned in.  I came in on Sound Opinions® and they were talking about Marvin Gaye’s career as a multi-faceted singer, artist, producer, etc., and his seminal album work.  Did you know that the particular album we are going to talk about set a standard in music and music production?  Also, to date, as far as I know, it is the only album for which a football star proudly displays his own Gold Record. If you have a chance, check out the show via podcast. I don’t think you will regret it.

Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On came out over 45 years ago, and could not be more relevant if he had written it yesterday!  Forty-five years. And here we are.

Even the titles of the songs tell a story: What’s Going On, What’s Happening Brother, Flying High (In the Friendly Sky), Save the Children, God Is Love, Mercy Mercy Me, Right On, Wholy Holy, Inner City Blues (Makes Me Want to Holler), and the ever hopeful, Tomorrow.

The thing is, this album, and this discussion on the radio, aligned perfectly with the reason for my trip, and some of the circumstances of my life and family.

In case you don’t know, I am an American woman. A black, American woman. Within my family, like many families, there are doctors, lawyers, playwrights, actors, laborers, professors and teachers, Olympic medalists, preachers, and perhaps unlike many families, young and old institutionalized men within the penal system. I say institutionalized because some have been there so long that it is the only life they know, and that some may ever know. Even when/if they are released, the odds of them making it in the outside world are not very high, because they were incarcerated at such young ages for nonviolent crimes, that basically it is the only life they know. A life of lockdown and frustration, when actual murderers and rapist are walking around free. A life that has become ‘normal’ for them. A life they violate parole intentionally to go back to, because it is all they know, and the outside world is indeed, a very scary place. So, I ask you, what IS going on?

Tomorrow(the ever hopeful), with his permission, I will tell you the story of hope of a young man who has spent 22 years in prison, more than twice his age, and of Presidential pardon because the ‘punishment’ NEVER fit the crime. At least, I hope it is a story of hope. ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Mercedes' Blog

Participated with NaBloPoMo for the month of November. I finished strong!

Leave a Reply

